Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools

You are here: Home / Members / Sandrine Bony (or Bony-Léna), sbony

Sandrine Bony (or Bony-Léna) sbony

Sandrine Bony (or Bony-Léna), sbony

CNRS Senior Research Scientist / Directeur de Recherche au CNRS

EMC3 Team Leader / Responsable de l'Equipe EMC3

Case 99
T 45 - 55, 3ème étage
4 place Jussieu

Paris F75252 Cedex 05
Office Phone: (33-1) 44 27 50 14


Education and Professional Experience :

  • Present: CNRS Senior Scientist (Directrice de Recherche 1ère classe au CNRS);
  • 2010: Habilitation à Diriger des Recherches (HDR, accreditation to supervise research).
  • 1999-2001: MIT (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Cambridge, USA.
  • 1996-2010: CNRS (National Center for Scientific Research) research scientist at LMD/IPSL, Paris.
  • 1994-1996: CNES (Centre National d’Etudes Spatiales) post-doctoral fellowship; Visiting scientist in the Climate and Radiation Branch of the NASA GSFC (Greenbelt, USA) and at the Center for Clouds, Chemistry and Climate (San Diego, USA).
  • 1991-1993: PhD, LMD and University Pierre et Marie Curie (Paris 6, France): "Analysis of the role of clouds and water vapor in the seasonal variation of the Earth Radiation Budget; Implications for climate sensitivity".
  • 1988-1990: Magistère Inter-universitaire de Physique (Paris Universities and Ecole Normale Supérieure), including a Master in Quantum Physics.


Selected Professional Activities and Services :

  • World Climate Research Programme (WCRP) : Co-lead coordinator of the WCRP Grand Challenge on "Clouds, Circulation and Climate Sensitivity" (2012-); Co-Chair of the Working Group on Coupled Models (WGCM, 2008-2016); Member of the WCRP Modelling Advisory Council (WMAC, 2012-2016); Co-Chair of the Cloud Feedback Model Intercomparison Project (CFMIP, 2006-2012)
  • Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) : Lead Author of the 4th Assessment Report (2007); Member of the scoping meeting of the 5th Assessment Report (2009); Contributing Author of the 3rd and 5th Assessment Reports (2001 and 2013);
  • American Meteorological Society : Editor for the J. Climate (2005-2008); Editor for the Bull. Amer. Meterol. Soc. (2008-2012); Bernhard Haurwitz Memorial Lecturer Award (2012); Member of the American Meteorological Society (2006-).
  • Europe: European Research Council (ERC) Advanced Grant (2016-2021) EUREC4A (Elucidating the role of clouds-circulation coupling in climate).
  • France : Head of the LMD/IPSL climate modelling group EMC3 (Study and Modelling of Climate and Climate Change, 2012-); Member of the scientific committee CNRS/LEFE (IDAO 2008-2011, IMAGO 2012-2016); Member of the IPSL scientific committee (2010-); Expert member for international cooperations, french ministry of research (Direction Générale de la Recherche et de l’Innovation du Ministère de la Recherche, 2008-2011).
  • Other international committees, panels or jury : Member of the Met Office Science Review Group, Exeter, UK (2017-); Member of the GFDL external review panel, Princeton, USA (2014); Member of the Scientific Advisory Board of the "High Definition Clouds and Precipitation for Climate Prediction" project HD(CP)2, Germany (2012-); Member of the Center for Multi-Scale Modeling of Atmospheric Processes (CMMAP)’s External Advisory Panel, NSF Science and Technology Center, CO, USA (2007-2008); International partner investigator of the Australian Center for Excellence on Climate Change (2011-); Jury member of the "Frontiers of Knowledge Award" of the BBVA Foundation, category Climate Change (2012-).